Historic Sites of Manitoba: King Edward Park (709 Manhattan Avenue, Winnipeg)
In November 1909, the land for this 6.2-acre Winnipeg park was acquired by the Winnipeg Parks Board at a cost of $10,859. Like King Edward School, the park was named for the reigning monarch, Albert Edward (1841-1910, King Edward VII). Site development and beautification took several years, with grading work occurring from 1914 to 1915. A wading pool was added in 1923 and a larger lily pond by the late 1930s. As part of a $500,000 improvement and renewal project, unveiled on on 10 October 1995, the concrete pond liner was replaced. New playground, fences, and lighting features were built, though all water features have since been filled in.
“Parks christened,” Winnipeg Tribune, 11 November 1909, page 2.
“Municipal golf course planned,” Manitoba Free Press, 22 October 1914, page 20.
“Parks used by record crowds,” Winnipeg Tribune, 2 January 1924, page 6.
“Elmwood beauty spot,” Winnipeg Tribune, 22 August 1940, page 3.
[Photo caption], Winnipeg Free Press, 14 July 1943, page 6.
“Pleasant Oasis,” Winnipeg Free Press, 22 August 1947, page 11.
“Neighborhood improvement committee starting to see results of their efforts,” Winnipeg Free Press Community Review North / Northeast, 18 October 1995, page 1.
“The Most Lovely and Picturesque City in All of Canada”: The Origins of Winnipeg’s Public Park System by John Selwood, John C. Lehr and Mary Cavett
This page was prepared by Nathan Kramer.
Page revised: 4 March 2017
Back to top of page