Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 142 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Hargrave School No. 482 (Hargrave, RM of Wallace-Woodworth)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Hargrave School District was established formally in November 1886 but the present one-storey brick school building, in Hargrave in what is now the Rural Municipality of Wallace-Woodworth, dates from 1909. The school closed in January 1969 and its remaining students went to Virden Consolidated School No. 144. The building appears to be in use as a community centre.





Edith M. Houston


Miss F. B. Sharman


Miss Wilma F. Carson


William John Schultz (1899-1988)


Arthur William Sankey (1911-1970)


John K. Friesen


John Buhr


Ralph Ernest Mayes (1891-1969)


Mary B. Currie


Marie Heuchert


Alice R. Garlick


Thelma K. Meadows


Nora Fraser


Norma Chapple




Grades 1-8

Fred Crossman (1887), Miss Minnie Montgomery (1896), William Shepherd (1900), Miss Pentland (1904), Miss Roberts (1905), Miss McFarlane (1906), Olive Fergusson (1907), Mr. Abraham (1908), Eva McRae (1909), Miss Ghand (1910), Miss A. K. Graham (1911-1912), Miss B. Norris (1912), Mr. S. Abrohover (1912), Miss Clifford (1912), Miss M. B. Milburn (1914-1915), J. J. Cripps (1915-1917), Miss Gertrude McDonald (1917), Miss Mae MacFarlane (1917-1918), Miss Caroline Welling (1918-1919), Miss Ida Story (1919-1920), Miss K. Murdock (1920), Miss Sutherland (1920), Miss Lavinia Williams (1921), Mrs. Gertrude Reid (1921), Miss Minnie Pommer (1921-1922), Miss Bridgett (1921-1922, substitute), Miss Nettie Palmer (1922-1925), Miss F. Annie Day (1925-1927), Mr. Robertson (1925-1927, substitute), Miss Evelyn Odell (1925-1927, substitute), Miss Elsie Neighbour (1927-1929), Miss Chisholm (1929-1932), Miss Catherine Bray (1932-1934), Miss Marion Solly (1934-1935), Miss Margaret Kirton (1935-1936), Clarence Warren (1936-1939), Miss Wilma Tully (1939), Miss A. L. Armson (1939), Miss Dora Dick (1940-1941), Miss Henderson (1941-1942), Miss Thelma Meadows (1942-1943), Mrs. Johnston (1943-1944), Miss Carrie Dalgliesh (1944-1945), Miss Helen Smith (1945-1947), Mrs. Beryl Jackson (1947-1951), Mrs. Doreen Sharratt (1952-1953), Mrs. C. Russell (1952-1953, substitute), Miss Edith Stefan (1952-1953, substitute), Mrs. Louise Baillie (1953-1955), Miss Clara Beswitherick (1955-1956), Mrs. Leone Dixon (1956-1963), Mrs. Lois M. Mitchell (1963-1965), Miss Del M. McBain (1965-1966), Mrs. Diana Rae (1966-1968)

Intermediate Room

Stanley Sokalski (1953-1955, grades 5-9), Marjory M. Cole (1955-1956, grades 5-10), Georgina Hill (1956-1958, grades 5-10), Gordon McCurdy (1958-1959, grades 5-9), Elmer “Buddy” Myers (1959-1961, grades 5-8), Mrs. Josie Clara Graham (1961-1963, grades 5-8), Mrs. Meryleen Lane (1963-165, grades 5-8), Mrs. Dorothy Paul (1965-1967, grades 5-8), and Mrs. Margaret Bowles (1967-1968, grades 5-8)

Among the other teachers of Hargrave School was Ronald L. Chalmers (1948-1950).

Photos & Coordinates

Hargrave School

Hargrave School (circa 1910)
Source: Archives of Manitoba, Hargrave - School 1.

Hargrave School

Hargrave School (circa 1910)
Source: Education Department Report, 1910, Manitoba Legislative Library.

Hargrave School

Hargrave School (1967)
Source: Archives of Manitoba, Architectural Survey - Hargrave 7.

The former Hargrave School building

The former Hargrave School building (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 1412.

The former Hargrave School building

The former Hargrave School building (September 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.91565, W101.07971
denoted by symbol on the map above


Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Binding Our Districts by History Book Committee, 1989. [Legislative Library of Manitoba, F5648.H374 Bin]

We thank Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 18 February 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | Questions | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2021 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.