Historic Sites of Manitoba: Gary Hobson Memorial Park (880 Oakenwald Avenue, Winnipeg)
The Fort Garry Community Centre was established at this site in 1945. Named the Fort Garry Memorial Centre in 1954, it served as a recreation hub for the neighbourhood, and was later known as the Fort Garry Memorial Park. Upon the 60th anniversary of the Club, a plaque was unveiled on the side of the building on 4 June 2005, commemorating the volunteerism and dedication of the community.
Also on the property is Lions Club Fort Garry Swimming Pool, the first Winnipeg pool built to Olympic standards after the Sargent Baths. The pool was officially opened by Attorney-General Sterling Lyon on 10 August 1959. In 1960, the pool was donated by the Lions Club to the municipality, a process guided by Alexander J. D. Bridge. Some time after the death of Gary Ross Hobson, the park was renamed in commemoration of Hobson’s contributions to the community, as a Councillor and Parks Board Chairman of Fort Garry, as well as a renowned football coach.
“Lawrie to head Parks Board in Fort Garry,” Winnipeg Free Press, 1 February 1954, page 28.
[Photo caption], Winnipeg Free Press, 11 August 1959, page 4.
“They’re ready for swim trials,” Winnipeg Free Press, 9 July 1960, page 45.
“Brandon students plan to showcase music at art gallery,” Winnipeg Free Press, 1 May 1982, page 30.
This page was prepared by Nathan Kramer.
Page revised: 15 February 2015
Back to top of page