Historic Sites of Manitoba: Site Historique Enfant-Jésus Heritage Site / Musée Dawson Trail Museum (Richer, RM of Ste. Anne)
The Enfant-Jésus Heritage Site is home to the Roman Catholic Church built in 1913 by the local French Canadian and Métis community under the guidance of architect Joseph Alphonse Hudon. In addition there is a cemetery and a former convent of the Sisters of Saint-Joseph of Saint Hyacinthe. All the buildings are located on thirteen acres donated by Pierre Michaud and his wife Hélène Favreau in 1904.
The Catholic Church has a distinct Romanesque architectural style as shown by its rounded arched windows, doors and tower openings and statuary niche. The interior boasts a barrel vaulted ceiling supported by two rows of six columns, each column complete with Corinthian style capitals. The black marble altar was designed by renowned French sculptor, Hubert Garnier. A grotto built in 1954 is dedicated to Notre Dame de Lourdes who appeared to a peasant girl, Bernadette Soubirou.
Renovations to the church in the 2000s were done as part of the Manitoba Prairie Churches Project and the building is a municipally-designated heritage structure (2008). The building has now been converted to a community museum and inquiries should be directed to Yvonne Fontaine Godard (204-422-9369).
Photos & Coordinates
Obituary [Francois Normandin], Winnipeg Free Press, 6 July 1965.
We thank Christy Henry and Patricia Gendreau for providing additional information used here.
Page revised: 20 July 2022