MHS Smarty Party: 20 October 2022

Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Dencross Post Office Monument (Dencross, RM of Brokenhead)

On 3 June 2000, the Rural Municipality of Brokenhead erected this memorial to the postmasters who served in the postal district of Dencross from its establishment on 16 May 1938 to its closure in 1970. They included John Dehn (1938-1947), Fred Klann (1947-1948), Rudolph Ferchoff (1948-1949), Michael Hlady (1950-1968), and Mary Hlady (1968-1970).

Dencross Post Office commemorative monument

Dencross Post Office commemorative monument (August 2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.26678, W96.48964
denoted by symbol on the map above


This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 23 January 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.