Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 140 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Jens Munk at Churchill
Field Trip:

Manitoba History No. 89

No. 89

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Deerhorn School No. 1338 (Municipality of West Interlake)

The Deerhorn School District was established formally in June 1905 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at NE3-21-5W in what is now the Municipality of West Interlake. Around 1942, the original school building was replaced by a new structure on a different site. In 1967, the district was dissolved and its area became part of the Lakeshore School Division. The former school building is no longer present at the site and a new building has replaced it.

Among the teachers of Deerhorn School were Lillian Chisholm (1938-1939), Verla Tebbatts (1939-1941), Jennie Pascoe (1941), Lucy Stratychuk (1941-1942), Carol Sigurdson (1942-1943), Allison M. Watson (1943-1945), Gladys T. Longmuire (1945-1946), Blanche E. Cowham (1946-1947), Florence O. Westfall (1947-1948), John J. Enns (1948-1949), Celina Beaudin (1949-1950), Mary Andrushko (1950-1951), Nadine Dahl (1951-1952), Sylvia Ann Yakimyshen (1952-1953), Lorna E. Dack (1953-1954), Valerie Chyzzy (1954-1955), Louise A. Lane (1955-1956), Myrtle McDonald (1956-1958), E. Matheson (1958), D. Beauchemin (1958), Dora Osterbeck (1958-1960, 1963-1966), Mary Sviestrup (1960-1961), Sylvia Olafsen (1961-1963), Julia Roberecki (1966-1967), and Rosalind McIntosh (1967-1968).

Original Deerhorn School and teacherage

Original Deerhorn School and teacherage (no date) by J. H. Plewes
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 100.

Original Deerhorn School and teacherage

Students in front of the second Deerhorn School (Spring 1955)
Source: Harvey Rowland

Site Location (lat/long): N50.78647, W98.07407
denoted by symbol on the map above


Eriksdale East topographic map, 62G/16 East, Edition 1, Series A743 [UFS Reference Collection].

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

We thank Holly Thorne and Harvey Rowland for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 3 April 2019

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2019 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.