Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Ashfield School No. 428 (RM of St. Clements)

The Ashfield School District was established formally in September 1885 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at SE9-13-5E (and after 1917 at SW9-13-5E) in the Rural Municipality of St. Clements. In 1951, the original school building was replaced with a new structure with attached teacherage. The school closed in 1965 and the district was dissolved the following year, with its area becoming part of the Happy Thought Consolidated School District and later the Lord Selkirk School Division.

The teachers of Ashfield School were Nellie Collier (1887-1888), Bella Horn (1889), Helen Browne “Nellie” Hislop (1889), Myrtle Armstrong (1889-1890), Sarah A. Craig (1890-1892), Nellie Collter (1892), Tillie Couch (1892), J. W. Cleveland (1893), Ella Flanagan (1893-1894), Martha Murphy (1894-1895), Kate Lucy (1895-1896), J. A. Broatch (1897), Mr. Scoular (1898), Mary E. Albriu (1898-1899), Maggie M. Foster (1900-1901), Benjamin Lang (1901), Aggie Gestern (1901), Celia E. Mitchell (1905), Jessie A. Graham (1905), Lilian Delaware (1906-1907), Charlotte L. MacDonald (1907), Frederick V. Bird (1908), Lena G. Cook (1908-1909), M. Mclennan (1909), Irene Ramsay (1910-1911), E. S. Jickling (1910), Mary G. Pearson (1911), D. S. Morgan (1913-1914), Grace Rolston (1915-1916, wife of George Stevens), D. E. Morgan (1915), E. C. Loucit (1917), Violet P. Rins (1917-1919), Mrs. A. E. Baldwin (1919), Mrs. Tina Grove (1920-1921, wife of Frederick Philip Grove), Annie Bro Ryan (1921), A. Brockman (1922), Lillian Travers (1922-1923), Vida L. Macdonald (1923-1925), Eleanor C. Fisher (1925-1926), E. Arnason (1926-1929), Daniel McWilliams (1929-1930), Isabella Helen Dresser (1930-1932), Mrs. May Irving Davidson (1932-1936), Andrew Danyleyko (1936-1938), Harry H. McIntosh (1938-1941), Miss Jean Parfaniuk (1941), Mrs. Jean Hollinger (1942-1946), Peter Andrew Boyko (1946), Alberta Louella Hendy (1947-1949), Polly Cherniak (1949-1953), Mrs. Edmie L. Silvester (1953-1954), Colin Doroschuk (1954-1963), Rose Doroschuk (1964-1965), and Judy Pidstawko (1965).

The original Ashfield School building

The original Ashfield School building (no date) by J. E. S. Dunlop
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 50.

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.07841, W96.86357
denoted by symbol on the map above


School District Formation Files [Ashfield School District No. 428], GR1688, E0027, Archives of Manitoba.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Obituary [Alberta Louella Hendy], Winnipeg Free Press, 12 December 1989, page 36.

Ashfield School, Kirkness, St. Clements Heritage.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 8 April 2020

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.