Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 140 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Manitoba History No. 89

No. 89

AGM 2019

Spring Field Trip 2019
Field Trip

Summer Field Trip 2019
Field Trip

Fall Field Trip 2019
Field Trip

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Arnhold School No. 1618 (RM of St. Clements)

The Arnhold School District was established formally in April 1912, although it operated informally in the home of a local resident, and a one-room schoolhouse was bult in 1913 at SE30-15-6E in the Rural Municipality of St. Clements on two acres of land donated by Casper and Anna Ogonowski. In 1947, the school closed due to low enrollment and the district was dissolved in 1967. Its area became part of the Lord Selkirk School Division. In 2018, a commemorative sign was installed about 0.5 kilometres east of the former school site.

The teachers of Arnhold School were Edith Isbister (1911-1914), Ethel E. Gilternam (1914-1915), D. C. Mclean (1915-1916), Clara L. Hayward (1916), Ethel M. McConnell (1917), Marie Negoycz (1917-1918), Fanny Costell (1918-1919), Pauletta MacDougall (1919-1920), Henry R. Halpin (1920-1922), Myrtle Murray (1923), Elizabeth Pelling (1924), Frank Douglas Harwood (1924-1925), Noburn Todd (1926), Eva Schwartz (1926-1927), E. Bodin (1928), Bessie Levin (1928), Edith M. Hay (1928-1929, 1930), Henry R. Halpin (1929), Viola Melinda Grace Frost (1930-1931), Helga Reykdal (1931-1932), Margarer Hazel Galbraith (1932), Edith Mary Bruce (1933-1935), Jessie Clarke McConnell (1935-1937), Leila Rae Rankin (1937-1939), Elsie Mollie Kreycik (1939-1940), Dora Edith Olds (1940-1941), Mary Hazel Rankin (1941), Amy Alicia Grayson (1941-1942), Catherine Mary Hall (1942-1943), Sarah Waschenfelder (1943-1944), Elizabeth Irene Gibson (1944-1945), Marie Patricia Banash (1945-1946, 1947), and H. Kozera (1946).

Arnhold School

Arnhold School (no date) by J. E. S. Dunlop
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-3, page 4.

Arnhold School commemorative sign

Arnhold School commemorative sign (August 2018)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Location (lat/long): N50.29870, W96.74337
denoted by symbol on the map above


School District Formation Files [Arnhold School District No. 1618], GR1688, E0027, Archives of Manitoba.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Arnhold School, Poplar Park, St. Clements Heritage.

School Districts of the Libau Area of Manitoba, 1887-1967 by Charlene Dusyk and Sylvia Sweetland, Winnipeg, 2017.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 19 October 2018

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2019 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.