Historic Sites of Manitoba: Arborg Elementary School / Arborg Early Middle School (251 David Street, Arborg)

Link to:
Arborg Elementary Schools Supervising Principals | Arborg Elementary Schools Teachers | Arborg Elementary School Principals | Arborg Elementary School Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Arborg Elementary School was commissioned by the Arborg Consolidated School District No. 2441 (previously the Ardal School District No. 1292) upon architectural designs of Libling Michener and Associates and built by Malcom Construction at Arborg in 1967. In April 1967, the district was dissolved into the Evergreen School Division. The school was officially opened on 20 October 1967.

Supervising Principals (Arborg Elementary Schools)



Before 1967

see Ardal School


George Lysak (1932-2021) [also of Arborg Consolidated School]

Teachers (Arborg Elementary Schools)



Before 1967

see Ardal School


(Both here and Arborg Consolidated School): Gordon Bardarson (grade 6), Julia Bidochka (grade 3), Ellen Christine Borgfjord (grade 5), Erna Ruth Falk (kindergarten), Bernice Valdina Finnson (grade 2), Gladys Mae Gudmundson (grade 2), Kristinn Sigursteinn Gurmundson (grade 5), Joseph Gula (grade 7), Olive Pearl Gula (grade 1), Wayne Neal Hess (grade 8), Inga Hokanson (grade 1), Hannah Winnifred Johasson (special education), Christine Mabel Johnson (grade 7), Norman James Lee (no grade), Florence Dora Lisowik (grade 4), Lorna Ingrid Martin (grade 1), Julia Roberecki (grade 6), Mary Elizabeth Solar (grade 4), Tony Sorokowski (grade 8), Natalie Surminski (grade 3)

After 1968

see Arborg Junior High (grades 7-9) or Arborg Elementary School [below] (grades 1-6)

Principals (Arborg Elementary School)




George Lysak (1932-2021)


Brian Wallace

Teachers (Arborg Elementary School)




Gordon Bardarson, Julia Bidochka, Ellen Christine Borgfjord, Gail Gislason, Gladys Mae Gudmundson, Kristinn Sigursteinn Gurmundson, Inga Hokanson, Winnifred Jonasson, Florence Dora Lisowik, Lorna Martin, Natalie Surminski, Mary Elizabeth Solar, Julia Roberecki, Irene Eva Sohan, Eileen Stoyanowski, Carol Zacharias


Gordon Bardarson, Miss E. Barker, Julia Bidochka, Ellen Christine Borgfjord, Mrs. E. Buchko, Miss Dowhan, Gladys Mae Gudmundson, Kristinn Sigursteinn Gurmundson, Lynne Holm, Christine Johnson, Winnifred Jonasson, Florence Dora Lisowik, Inga Palson, Mrs. Penner, Christine Price, Julia Roberecki, Mr. E. Tremblay










Gordon Bardarson, Ellen Christine Borgfjord, Karen Chekosky, Mary Dziadow, Kristinn Sigursteinn Gudmondson, Marlene Gulay, Wayne Hess, Lynne Holm, Christine Johnson, Winnifred Jonasson, Phyllis Lyseng, Inga Palson, Joyce Pike, Christine Price, David Price, Michael Totte, Stephanie Woloshyn

Photos & Coordinates

Arborg Elementary School under construction

Arborg Elementary School under construction (June 1967)
Source: Archives of Manitoba, Manitoba Local Government Boundaries Commission,
File 39B - Arborg Elementary.

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.90678, W97.21092
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Manitoba Business: Libling Michener and Associates / LM Architectural Group

Manitoba Business: Malcom Construction

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Arborg Collegiate Institute (461 St. Peter Street, Arborg)


School division half-yearly attendance reports (E 0757), Archives of Manitoba.

Manitoba School Records Collection, Evergreen School Division No. 22 (Arborg Elementary) - Daily Registers, GR6124, Archives of Manitoba.

“Evergreen Division 1966 school staff,” Arborg Lake Centre News, 9 September 1966, page 8.

“Mr. John Chalaturnyk speaks to Arborg PTA,” Arborg Lake Centre News, 6 October 1967, page 1.

“Public notice,” Arborg Lake Centre News, 13 October 1967, page 6.

Local Government Boundaries Commission, Schools in the Interlake - Manitoba - Volume 1, Arborg Elementary - File 39B, March 1968, Archives of Manitoba.

“Evergreen School Div. announces extension of services and projects [Staff List 1968-69],” Arborg Lake Centre News and Manitouwapa Times, 30 August 1968, page 8.

“Arborg P.T.A. meets,” Arborg Lake Centre News and Manitouwapa Times, 17 October 1969, page 1.

“Evergreen Division teaching staff,” Arborg Lake Centre News and Manitouwapa Times, 27 August 1974, page 4.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

This page was prepared by Nathan Kramer.

Page revised: 26 December 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!