Manitoba Organization: Manitoba Progressive Party

This Manitoba-based political party was founded in March 1981 by three disaffected members of the New Democratic Party: Joseph Russell “Bud” Boyce, Sidney “Sid” Green, and Ben Hanuschak. The party fielded candidates in the 1981, 1986, 1988, and 1990 provincial general elections, and in 1984, 1985, and 1993 by-elections, but none of them were elected. The party was dissolved in 1995.





Sidney “Sid” Green


“Two MLAs quit the NDP,” Winnipeg Free Press, 27 February 1981, page 1.

“3 NDP defectors form new political party,” Winnipeg Free Press, 3 March 1981, page 1.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 22 July 2023